June does Retirement...

by June
(New York)

I am a 70 year old woman living in New York. I spend the vast majority of my time pursuing interests I was unable to during my working years.

I have six grown children and nine grand
children, so I spend a week a month visiting one of them.

I still actively attend my local church and go to bible study and prayer group once week. i take great pride in my wine & cheese book club that meets once a month- women of all ages and stages discussing books.

Each year I travel to visit my oldest daughter who lives in London and has been there for nearly 20 years. I enjoy travel and will sometimes fly to visit friends who have retired to Florida and South Carolina.

A normal day for me begins with a walk in the morning. I follow that up with either prayer group or breakfast at a local place with some friends. The balance of my day is spent volunteering at church events or visiting with my children.

I eat out probably about 4 times a week. I do not spend alot of time watching TV, but I make sure to be home for "Law and Order SVU " every week.

A nap is a luxury that I haven't gotten used to.

I try to keep my mind active with reading, even going to the local park with my Kindle and reading the latest crime thriller.

I have found over the last year that I have grown to love golf of all things! I never played while my husband was alive, although he loved the sport. After his death, I decided to try it and quickly learned and loved it !

When I visit friends and family I always stop at local courses.

Who knew I would find a new hobby in retirement ?

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to What To Do After Retirement....



Wendy's other site... because Aging Matters!